
I was told that it gets easier or slower as your kids get older...HA! Whoever thinks that has never had kids. There are all the school functions, sports practices, dentist appointments, church activities, etc., etc., etc. Then throw in boyfriends, girlfriends, fiancees and now spouses.
I have always been a stay-at-home-mom; a decision my husband and I made when we decided to start a family. We had lean times but the sacrifice was worth it.
I've not had a full-time job in nearly 21 years. Two years ago we added an "arm" to my husbands business by selling on eBay. Since then our business has taken off and I'm an integral part. When we added selling on eBay we did so from our home. My husband has always had a separate office and even rented two warehouses. In just two short years we have outgrown our home "office" and we have now consolidated everything into one facility.
- losing my warm parking spot in the garage
- having no large room in which to host family functions
- employees coming and going
- no sanctuary....I was always "at work"
So, since I can't have my cake and eat it too, I have now joined the ranks of millions of other women who must rise early, actually dress and head off to "work".
HOW DO PEOPLE DO THIS EVERYDAY????
Ok, I understand the "how" to go to work everyday but what I don't understand is how they (and primarily I mean moms) get everything else done. It doesn't help that this is our own business. If I was working for someone else I'm sure I wouldn't hesitate running out the door at 5pm and heading home. But since I don't get a paycheck each week it's imperative I do more than just punch the time clock. I find myself saying "I'll catch up on that household task later; I guess we'll eat leftovers "again" and what do you mean you have no more clean underwear".
I've decided that I needed a schedule so I quickly threw one together and so far so good. I'm sure it will need tweaking now and again but at least it's helping me accomplish more before I head off to the office in the morning.
I'm open to suggestions....do you have any good tips for getting everything done, staying organized and not falling behind in all my other responsibilities? I'm listening.......